Liss Cricket Club


Twyford v Liss Cricket Club 1st XI on Sat 28 May 2011 at 2pm
Liss Cricket Club Won by 78 runs

Match report
Liss won the toss and batted first with an opening partnership of Richardson and Pleace jnr. Some tight bowling from one end meant liss had to capitalise on any loose deliveries from the other. The scoreboard was ticking over nice and the opening pair was starting to build a partnership. A change of bowling from the home side started to slow the run rate down and runs were becoming harder to come by. After 20 over liss were 82-0. Pleace tried to increase the run rate and was stumped for 33 bringing Wyatt to the crease. This wicket was closely followed by the loss of Richardson for 48 and two more quick wickets leaving liss on 98-4. Twyford started to get on top but Wyatt dug in and started to put together a solid innings. Holding up one end whilst boundaries were being hit from the other end. Wyatt started to put his foot down before he was finally bowled for 50. Some quickly added runs at the end took the final score to 195-9.
Liss were missing one of their most consistent bowlers so needed a solid start. Unfortunately Twyford lost one of their opening batsmen to injury in the 2nd over. The Liss bowlers Richardson and Murphy were bowling very economically and made the breakthrough in the 7th over with the score on just 18. Twyford then started to build a partnership. Altough the bowling was still quite tight the home side were picking up boundaries and knocking the ball nicely. They moved the total onto 90-1 after 25 overs and were looking on course to chase victory. Pleace snr then struck and broke the partnership and Parrott followed with two more quick wickets in his next over. Each wicket seemed to bring about the next and Pleace snr picked up another 3 wickets in 3 overs. Twyford had crumbled and with a final runout left them all out for 117 and seeing them only add 27 runs for the last 8 wickets. Another victory for liss who are still undefeated

Liss Cricket Club 1st XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 9 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Tim Richardson ct Spencer jnr 48 1
Richard Pleace Jnr st J.Paine 33
Simon Wyatt b J.Paine 50
Gavin Kemp ct A.Spencer jnr 2 1
Phil Moore b A.Reidy 0 1
Steve Johns ct A.Reidy 7
Chris Allcock b M.McKenzie 15
Ian Brownlee b J.Paine 8
Owen Murphy ct J.Paine 10 2
Will Parrott Not Out  0
Richard Pleace Snr  

Twyford Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
A.Spencer snr10.013900.003.90
A.Spencer jnr7.0040220.005.71

Twyford Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
117 (0.0 overs)
K.West lbw Pleace snr 54
R.Smith Retired Not Out  0
R.Spillard lbw Richardson 6
A.Reidy ct Pleace snr 30
S.Spillard b Parrott 2
M.McKenzie ct Parrott 0
N.Boyes ct Pleace snr 3
A.Spencer snr b Parrott 1
A.Spencer jnr Not Out  5
J.Paine ct Pleace snr 2
M.Paine Run out  4

Liss Cricket Club 1st XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Tim Richardson9.0229129.003.22
Owen Murphy10.002600.002.60
Will Parrott8.012839.333.50
Richard Pleace Snr8.003147.753.87
Richard Pleace Jnr1.00100.001.00